Monday, June 29, 2009

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

The evil transformers race the Decepticon return to earth to hunt for an old relic. It is up to Sam Witwicky, Optimus Prime and their human and transformer friends to stop the Decepticon before all is to late.

While the first live action Transformers movie was spectacular, I feel that the second installment, Revenge of the Fallen, tries to hard and ultimately fails. The story is probably it's weakest point. It tries to be epic in every way, and succeeds in some parts, but overall it is very hard to follow exactly what is going on. There are also several big plot holes and things happening that make no sense at all. Especially the end felt as though it tries so hard to be perfect that instead it becomes lame.

Being a summer blockbuster the movie is filled with action and special effects from start to finish. The special effects are exceptionally good and deserve credit. However the action basically never stops and at times it felt as there was action for no reason. Being a two and a half hour movie it becomes a little to much at times. That being said, there are a ton of very enjoyable scenes I am certain you will like.

The writers have added more humor into Revenge of the Fallen and this is an element I think people will have different opinions about. Personally I liked the brainless humor and one liners. However what I did not like as much is all the stereotypes. Almost all the human characters except the main ones are stereotypes down to the bone. In addition the movie has problems staying true to the Transformers idea. There is a human looking transformer, which reminded me more of a Terminator than anything else, and there are several other references and items that felt out of place.

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is an okay movie. It has tons of action, fantastic special effects and blockbuster written all over it, but if you are looking for a serious movie with deep plot and great acting you should look elsewhere. 6/10

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Saturday Night Fever

A view on the disco culture of the 70's as seen trough the eyes of a young guy from Brooklyn.

Saturday Night Fever is a prime example of a feel good flick. The story is entertaining and easy to follow, and if you look deeper you will find even more than you first thought was there. It's like there is a magical feeling hanging over the movie as you watch it. It is also possibly the best dance movie I have seen to date.

The soundtrack is probably one of the movies strongest elements. "Stayin' Alive" and "Night Fever" are now well known Bee Gees songs, but they where made for this movie. The score is overall fantastic and it will guaranteed get your feet moving.

There is no better choice than John Travolta for the role as Tony Manero. He is amazing in this film and his dance movies are even better. It is no coincident that he later starred in several other dance flicks. Although the rest of the cast are great as well, John Travolta steals the show completely.

If you are a little down some day, Saturday Night Fever will get you right back on top. It is a joy to watch from start to finish. It might not have the deepest story or the best cast overall, but it has more than enough to keep you entertained and to make your feet twitch. 8/10

Ken Park

The lives and relationships of a group of skateboarders and their parents.

Like Lars von Trier, Larry Clark knows how to push the limit on what is acceptable to show on screen without ruining the movie. What makes Ken Park so different from other similar movies are the explicit sex scenes. Some will say that this is nothing more than porn with a story, but I have to STRONGLY disagree. There is nothing sexual or arousing about the sex scenes, they are just a part of the way Larry Clark wants to show us what goes on behind the walls of "normal" families.

What shocked me was how realistic the portraying of American people was. There is no doubt in my mind that what we see in Ken Park is also what is going on in many American homes. The movie is nothing more than a few days in different peoples lives, yet when it was done it left me feeling exhausted.

Let me also applaud the cast for taking so daring roles. There are a few known actors and also a few new ones. What they all have in common however is that they can act! James Ransone and Wade Williams both have terrific roles.

If you are like me and do not have problems watching naked people or sex on screen, you will probably enjoy Ken Park. It is a raw and depressing movie, but also an important one that shows a part of humans we don't like to talk about. 8/10

Saturday, June 20, 2009

"Damages"

Season 1:
The law school graduate Ellen Parsons get's a job in the prestigious law firm Hewes & Associates. The firm is working on a case against the billionaire Arthur Frobisher. Ellen soon discovers that everything is not what it seems to be. Especially when it comes to her boss Patty Hewes, the founder of the firm.

"Damages" is a show unlike anything I have seen before. I was a bit skeptical before watching it, because I was unsure if it was the kind of show I would like, but after the first few episodes I was hooked. It is not the normal kind of law show I have watched before, but more of a crime/thriller series from the perspective of a law firm.

There are several reasons why this show is unique. Firstly the way the story is told and how the show is cut. The very first thing we see is the end. Then we start 6 months earlier and as the episodes progress we gradually move closer and closer to the end. Each episode includes some quick glimpses at the present and reveals some small details, but the main story is told as the case and evidence collecting progresses. We quickly learn that no one are who they seem to be and everyone has their own agenda. Especially Patty Hewes is near impossible to read as she uses everyone in one way or another to get what she wants.

Secondly the acting is terrific. Glenn Close is absolutely brilliant as Patty Hewes. It has been a long time since I watched a show with this quality of acting. Rose Byrne as Ellen Parsons is also magnificent and together they easily steal the show. That's not saying the rest of the cast are bad, because just about everyone does great performances.

It's hard to put a finger on something that is bad about Damages. The only thing I can think of is that the story takes a little to long to unfold. This is a tiny detail and overall Damages is incredibly well made. I am already looking forward to season 2. 9/10

Season 2:
Ellen Parsons teams up with the FBI to try and take down Patty Hewes. At the same time she is working undercover at Hewes and Associates with a case against a major energy provider. The case turns out to be the hardest yet.

I was both excited and questioning as to how the writers would pull of season 2, and I must say they did an almost flawless job. The show keeps the same style of storytelling, showing the ending first then moving back in time 6 months and slowly progressing towards the ending again. One detail I like a lot is how we never get to know more than we need, but still get to know enough to keep watching. In addition the story twists and turns several times throughout the episodes.

The cast are as stunning as season 1, both old and new characters. I liked how they did not drop all the old characters but found ways to keep them in smaller roles. Glenn Close and Rose Byrne are again amazing and keeps this show up among the best. If you want a different kind of crime/lawyer show or just something new and fresh Damages is something you should strongly consider. 9/10 based on 2 seasons.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Antichrist

After a couples child accidentally dies from falling out of its bedroom window, they movies to a cabin in the woods called "Eden" to try and deal with their grieving.

I have heard quite a bit about director Lars von Trier without watching any of his movies until now. He is known for pushing the limit as to what is acceptable to put on screen and Antichrist is no exception. There is always a fine line between showing violence for the shock value or using it in an artistic context. Antichrist has been very hyped based on some very strong scenes, but I must say it was not as bad as people want us to believe. Still, there are 2-3 very explicit scenes that will make you look away or feel uneasy.

Antichrist is a movie that is very hard to review and rate. It is possibly the most artistic movie I have ever seen, with every scene being planned down to the last detail and filled with metaphors and connections to books and other art. I am fairly certain I only picked like 30% of everything which leaves me to believe that the movie can be viewed several times without being boring.

Both Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg are amazing in their respective roles and are close to the only human characters on screen. I have always been a fan of Dafoe because he is never afraid to take the challenging roles and he always pulls them off!

Leaving the Cinema I was unsure what I was feeling. The movie has a dark ending and there is a lot of unexplainable stuff going on. I also felt that the movie was a bit to artistic for my liking. All I can say is to watch it and make up your own mind. My rating is 7/10

"MythBusters"

Season 1:
Jamie Hyneman and Adam Savage put various myths and urban legends to the test to see if they are true or not. Everything is done as scientifically as possible.

I have been a fan of MythBusters for a long time but never really watched any episodes in order before now. I was surprised at how many episodes from the first season I had not seen.

The shows starts of a little shaky, but quickly finds itself. Adam Savage is by far the funnier one and has some great one liners. He is always doing something weird or making bets against Jamie. Jamie is the more serious and experienced and together they make a great team.

Overall the myths they test are very interesting with only a few boring or dumb ones. My favorite myth from season one is the escape from Alcatraz. The show gets 9/10 points from me for being new and original, funny and educational.

Season 2:
In this season of MythBusters the team take on a new pile of myths and test if they are confirmed, plausible or busted!

The second season starts with a bang as MythBusters revisit and retest a number of myths from season 1. I liked that they did this. It shows that they can admit to doing things wrong or inaccurate and gives the show more credibility. The rest of the season is filled with new and bigger myths. We see more of the other people involved as well and "the build team" are given a few myths to test themselves.

There isn't that much more to say. The show continues at a great pace with overall interesting myths and urban legends. A little varied quality, but overall satisfying. My favorite episode was the Boom-Lift Catapult. Based on 2 seasons I rate the show 9/10

Saturday, June 13, 2009

Class of 1984

A new teacher tries to deal with a class and school filled with bullies, dope dealers and other scum.

My sister told me about this flick and I must say I was positively surprised. At first I was sure it was going to be another of those teacher gets a horrible class, has some unorthodox methods and the students turn good. Boy was I wrong and very happy.

The story itself is not all that original, but it is told with such passion that I found myself surprised by my own reactions. Without spoiling everything, let me just say that there where at least 4-5 times throughout the movie where I was thinking to myself: "It has to go uphill from here" and in all occasions I was wrong! I guarantee you will feel anger and maybe even rage, and never has a revenge movie felt better.

Great acting from everyone helps the movie a long way in achieving this, a special nod to Perry King for his performance.

Sadly this is not perfect and has its flaws as all movies do. The action sequences feel forced and are also pretty cheesy to watch. I think the movie would have been just as good without them. Also certain aspects of the story where a little to far from reality (it is supposedly "loosely" based on real events). All in all Class of 1984 is a great b-movie and cult classic and for everyone that enjoys revenge flicks this is a must see. 7/10

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Wedding Trough

A mad farmer living by himself on a farm falls in love with his pig and has babies with her. But when he tries to care for them like his own children, they run back to their mother and things take a turn for the worse.

Wedding Trough, also known as Vase de noces or "The Pig Fucking Movie" around internet boards, is something different from anything I have seen before. The movie is from 1974, in black and white and features no dialog what so ever. In stead there is various music and other sounds/noises used to enhance the "experience".

The technical aspects of the movie are decent. Although this is a low budget art movie, it is clear that Thierry Zéno and his crew knew what they were doing. However since there was no dialog it was hard to understand the story completely.

These kind of movies are usually made to shock the viewer in some way or another and this is no exception. Sadly only the last 10 minutes where really shocking and disgusting. The rest of the movie was pretty boring to be honest. I can respect that it is a art movie and that this is not for everyone, but to me the sound for example was more irritating than helpful. I also had problems fully understanding the meaning behind some of the scenes. Still, props to the last 10 minutes, it actually made me feel a little nauseous and I was reluctant to look at the screen. 4/10

A Clockwork Orange

Together with his 3 friends a teenager goes around raping and beating up random people. When he is caught he is sent to jail for what he has done. He is however picked to participate in a new government treatment that is supposed to change him into a new person, but does the treatment work?

A Clockwork Orange is a strange movie and possibly Stanley Kubrick's most extreme. It has some extreme scenes and themes when it comes to movies from the early 70's. It features several sex scenes, including rape and scenes of violence or ultra-violence as it is called in the movie. But really the movie is a view on society and it's problems.

The first thing that makes this movie unique is the sets. Especially the milk bar is unique and I have never seen anything similar before. Combined with a very interesting score this makes for a very special viewing experience. A Clockwork Orange is a prime example of an art movie from the 70's. Malcolm McDowell does one of his better performances as Alex and he is truly terrifying to watch.

Stanley Kubrick is possibly one of the best directors to have lived and has made an amazingly large number of well known and technically outstanding movies. Personally I found A Clockwork Orange to be a bit to weird for my liking and I prefer his more mainstream works. It is a disturbing movie is many ways and is definitely not for everyone. My personal rating is 7/10

Sunday, June 07, 2009

The International

An Interpol agent works with the American government to take down a Swiss bank that funds terrorists and helps them buy weapons.

The International is a decent thriller. It has some of the same elements as a James Bond movie. The story takes place trough several countries, there are great action scenes and our main character does everything possible to stop the bad guys, without thinking about his own life. Although it does not compare to movies like "Casino Royale", it is great entertainment.

The story is complicated but not impossible to follow. I have my doubt as to how realistic it is, but this is not the point. The pace is just right and you are never bored while watching. The movie also features one of the better shootout scenes I have seen. You will know what I mean when you watch it.

Acting is also decent. Clive Owen does what he knows best, and he is a real joy to watch. Naomi Watts is also decent, although she has had better performances in other movies, she is believable. The thing I disliked the most was the ending. It felt very abrupt and I was surprised that it was over when the credits rolled. They could easily have added another 10 minutes and properly finished the story.

Overall The International has what it takes to keep you entertained for it's two hour duration. Although the story can be hard to follow and the end is a bit abrupt, it is still fun to watch. 7/10

My Bloody Valentine

3D:
Ten years after the horrible killings named the Valentine Massacre, Tom returns to the town to sell the mining company he inherited from his father. However the murderer who everyone thought was dead starts killing again!

My only reason to watch this was because it was in 3D. I was fairly certain this wouldn't be a masterpiece, but I figured it would be a decent combination of horror and 3D. This movie proves that no matter how cool 3D can be, if the movie sucks, it will suck in 3D as well.

Let me start of with the story. It is basically a new twist to all the bad serial killer/maniac horror movies out there. Insert random crazy person with a costume/mask, kill a bunch of people, have a bad plot twist in the end and whola you have My Bloody Valentine in a nutshell. The story is totally unrealistic and there are so many plot holes that my head started to hurt. Mix in a random naked woman being chased and killed for no apparent reason and you start to understand how bad this movie is.

Acting is not much better and it was a huge letdown to see Jensen Ackles in this horrible movie. I really liked him in the show "Supernatural", but he should have stayed away from this production. Directing is also horrible. The scenes when there is a party at the mine entrance and the escape trough them is a prime example of the bad editing.

The 3D effect saves what's left of this flick. At least the 3D looks nice and is the best quality I have seen so far on a LCD-TV. I did not have problems with headaches or my eyes getting tired like other 3D movies have. My Bloody Valentine is not a good movie and as such it gets 3/10

Monday, June 01, 2009

Angels & Demons

When a cylinder with Antimatter is stolen from CERN and hidden in an unknown place within the Vatican city, Professor Robert Langdon is called to the scene. He has to follow an ancient pathway of clues made by the Illuminati in order to find and stop the bomb.

I remember reading the Angels & Demons book right after I watched the first movie in the series, "The Da Vinci Code". The book is set before The Da Vince Code, but this was changed in order to make a sequel, thus the Angels & Demons movie is set after what happened in The Da Vince Code. This had luckily no effect on the story as far as I could tell.

The story is the strongest element and has been nicely written into a script. It is filled with history and mystic and blends fact and fiction in an amazing way. The secret Illuminati society is shrouded in mystery and can give anyone the urge to read more about them. I also liked the way the story blends science and religion making it interesting for a large group of people. In addition the movie features scenes from a huge range of historical buildings and locations found in Rome.

Ron Howard who also directed The Da Vinci Code is back in the directing chair for this movie. He has been given a very good story to work with but I felt as though something was missing this time. It just does not have the seamless flow that The Da Vinci Code had. I had no problem predicting who the bad guy was from fairly early on. I also did not like the choice of actors. Except Tom Hanks and Stellan Skarsgård the actors just did not feel right for the roles.

All in all Angels & Demons is a good movie. It does not live up to the prequel, but is still both interesting and entertaining. It is filled with history and scenes from historical places. The plot twist in the end was also great. If you liked The Da Vinci Code, you will enjoy Angels & Demons as well. 7/10

Insomnia

Two detectives from Los Angeles are sent to a small town in Alaska to help the local police solve a murder.

Being a fan of both Christopher Nolan's earlier and later works I had high hopes for Insomnia. It starts out as a normal cop/crime movie, but soon turns into an psychological thriller. The story itself is not that original but is still interesting to follow. My interpretation of the movies theme is that we are never only good or bad, but shades of gray.

My first reaction after finishing Insomnia was that there was something missing, after a while I realized that nothing was missing it was just me that had to high expectations. Insomnia is not a bad movie in any way, but it is not a masterpiece ether. It is what I would call a well crafted, well acted but overall average thriller.

Al Pacino is the star here. His transformation from start to finish is amazing and once again he proves that he is a brilliant actor. It was also nice to see Robin Williams in a more serious role. The rest of the cast could however been better. Overall Insomnia is a decent thriller, it keeps the viewer interested all the way to the end, but it will probably disappear from your memory a week later. 7/10